Be Mindful of Georgia’s Car Seat Laws
More children between 1 and 12 years old are injured or killed in car accidents in Georgia than any other type of incident.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in 2017, approximately 2,000 children died in a car accident, while over 180,000 were injured.
One of the driving contributors to these statistics is the inappropriate use of car seats and improper installation.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that four out of ten children below six years old who are killed or severely injured in a car accident were not restrained correctly.
Conversely, when car seats are installed and used properly, more than 70 percent of children involved in car accidents remain safe.
Georgia Law and Car Seats
Understanding the value of car seats and their ability to protect children from serious harm in the event of a car accident, Georgia lawmakers have created legislation that dictates how they are to be used. According to state law:
- Every child under eight years old and is less than 57 inches tall must ride in the backseat to prevent airbag injuries.
- Children under eight years old must use a car seat or a certified booster seat that aligns with their age and weight.
- If a child is transported in a vehicle that does not have a back seat (e.g. pickup truck), the State of Georgia does allow a child under eight years old to use a front seat if restrained in a certified car or booster seat. Still, the child must weight 40 pounds or more.
Drivers that are caught violating these laws may be fined up to $50 and sustain one point against their license for each child that is not restrained appropriately.
Additional Car Seat Safety Tips
Parents and drivers can take steps go beyond the law to help improve the safety of their child when operating a vehicle. To complement Georgia’s legal standards of child safety, consider adopting the following car seat safety tips:
- Have any child that is under 13 years old sit in the backseat to avoid airbag injuries
- Do not sit with a child in your lap
- Do not install a car seat in the front section of a vehicle
- Make sure each child always wears their seat belt, even when traveling short distances
To learn more about car seat safety or to file a personal injury claim in the event of an accident, contact Fast Help by dialing (404) 592-0318. Our Atlanta personal injury attorneys provide free consultations and are available 24/7 to help answer any questions or discuss your legal options after an accident occurs.