How Insurance Rates Go Up After An Auto Accident
IF I GET INTO AN AUTO ACCIDENT, WHAT FACTORS CAN CAUSE MY INSURANCE RATES TO INCREASE?
This history of your personal driving record and whether you have been found responsible for other accidents in the past are a couple of factors that can influence your insurance rates after an auto accident claim. If you are involved in a car accident, call our Atlanta accident hotline for immediate help and take a look at some things your insurance provider may review after you file an accident claim.
The Extent of the Damage and Related Expenses
All accident claims are unique. For example, the extent of the damage and repairs required for a small fender bender significantly differs from a multi-vehicle pileup. Insurance adjusters carefully consider the cost and severity of a claim when determining whether your rates will increase over time.
Your Personal Driving History
Auto insurance providers often weigh your personal driving history when determining the cost of your auto insurance premium. If you are determined to be high risk based on prior traffic offenses, you will likely experience an increase in your rates. Although you may be considered as a safe driver based on your driving record, your insurance provider can re-evaluate your status at any time. Still, simply filing an accident or insurance claim does not mean your rates will automatically increase.
Which Driver Is Responsible For The Accident
Increasing your insurance rates is also factored by who is found to be responsible or at fault for the accident. When filing an accident or insurance claim, your insurance provider will assign you your own adjuster to evaluate your case. Their primary focus is to assess the related damage and estimate the cost of repairs. The adjuster may use a copy of the police report to determine their decision, as well as speak with any witnesses that were present at the time of the accident. If there are photos or other forms of evidence connected to your case, the adjuster will take these into account, as well. With this information, the adjuster will determine who is responsible and in some cases, there may be more than one driver who’s found to be at fault. video copilot element 3d license file free download
Will my rates go up after a no-fault accident?
Like most areas throughout the United States, the State of Georgia is registered as a fault state. This means that when two drivers are involved in an accident, the person who is deemed as responsible for the crash is liable for the other person’s damages (Georgia Code § 51-1-6).
If the at-fault driver possesses auto insurance (as required by the state), their insurance provider is on the hook for providing compensation. Such payments are delivered through automobile liability insurance, which all Georgia drivers must possess when registering a vehicle. The minimum requirements are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per driver
- eset nod32 antivirus 11 key 2020
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per occurrence
In Georiga, the driver that’s injured has the legal right to file a personal injury claim against the insurance provider that’s connected to the driver determined to be at fault. This is different from a no-fault insurance policy where the injured driver would need to file a claim with their personal insurance provider for compensation.
How long do accidents stay on my insurance?
If your insurance provider increases your rates after an at-fault collision, your rate may stay increased for three years. In some situations, a surcharge after an accident may eventually decrease each year that another accident doesn’t occur. A few providers offer a discount for a safe driving record, and such benefits may also be eliminated after a car crash occurs. Check with your insurance representative to learn specific details on how an accident may affect your premiums.
Call Fast Help to get all of the information you need
If you are involved in an accident, call the legal and medical experts at Fast Help. Our accident injury attorneys provide free consultations and if you need to file a claim, they will support you through the entire process without requiring a single payment from you. If you are injured and need medical attention, Fast Help can also connect you with a medical doctor that specializes in personal injury. Just dial (404) 592-0318 for more information and immediate support.