Personal Injury Guide For The State of Georgia
If you are involved in an accident and sustain injuries, it’s important that you protect your legal rights by contacting one of the experienced personal injury attorneys at Fast Help.
Our personal injury attorneys can assist in ensuring that you receive the greatest possible compensation for your damages, as well guide you through any red tape that the insurance companies may offer.
To help you understand how personal injury cases are approached in the State of Georgia, the professionals at Fast Help are offering the following guide that outlines important considerations you need to address if you or someone you love is injured.
Georgia Personal Injury Guide
If you sustain an injury as a result of a slip and fall incident or an auto accident, it’s important that you follow through with these steps:
- Contact emergency support or 911 for medical attention.
- Call 1-800-FASTHELP or (404) 592-0318 to speak with an Atlanta personal injury attorney right away.
- Take pictures of all sustained injuries and any property damage that may exist with your smartphone.
- Keep any related receipts, an official record of any missed work, and other relevant notes that pertain to the incident.
- Try to obtain information from witnesses, including their contact details and written statements.
- File an injury claim with the other person’s insurance provider.
- Do not offer any statements to anyone other than the police before contacting one of our personal injury attorneys.
- Do not sign any releases of liability or potential claims before speaking with the professionals at Fast Help.
Statute of Limitations
In the State of Georgia, it is important that you follow through with a legal suit within a particular time frame.
The statute of limitations determines how long you have to file the claim with the court after you are hurt in an accident.
In some situations, the statute of limitations begins when you first become aware of your injury or should have become aware of the damage (this is called the Discovery Rule).
Georgia statute of limitations laws may differ from those of other states.
Georgia State Laws Around Statute of Limitations: Types of Claims
- Negligence (car accidents, slip and fall incidents) – 2 years
- Assault or Battery – 2 years
- Defamation – 1 year
- Strict Liability – 2 years
- Products Liability – 2 years
- Wrongful Death – 2 years